Skip to main content

20/12/13 10:00

Appointment of new sheriffs

Sheriffs appointed for North Strathclyde

Her Majesty the Queen, on the recommendation of the First Minister, has appointed Mrs M Shirley Foran, solicitor, and Mr Robert D M Fife, solicitor advocate, as sheriffs of North Strathclyde. Mrs Foran will be based at Kilmarnock Sheriff Court and Mr Fife at Paisley.

First Minister Alex Salmond nominated Mrs Foran and Mr Fife for appointment on the basis of a report by the independent Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland.

Shirley Foran was admitted as a solicitor in 1980. Following a wide-ranging apprenticeship she focussed on sheriff court practice. In 1990 she became a partner at Black Hay Solicitors, Ayr, with responsibility for the civil, criminal and tribunal court department within a broad general practice. Prior to her appointment, Mrs Foran was an accredited family law specialist and trained mediator. Mrs Foran became a part-time sheriff in 2007.

Robert Fife was admitted as a solicitor in 1978. Mr Fife worked in the court department of Strathern & Blair WS until 1982 when he was made a partner. In 1992 he became a partner in Anderson Strathern dealing with dispute resolution and commercial litigation. In 1995 Mr Fife qualified as a solicitor advocate. In 1998 he was appointed a temporary sheriff and in 2000 he was appointed a part-time sheriff covering sheriff courts across Scotland.

Notes to editors

The salary of a sheriff is £129,579 per annum.

The Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland was established by Ministers in 2002 and it became an independent advisory non-departmental public body on 1st June 2009. The board has statutory responsibilities under the Judiciary and Courts (Scotland) Act 2008. The board’s role is to recommend for appointment to the office of judge, sheriff principal, sheriff and part-time sheriff. The First Minister retains the statutory responsibility for making nominations to Her Majesty the Queen. The First Minister is required by statute to consult the Lord President of the Court of Session before making his nomination to Her Majesty.